Tuesday, July 13, 2010

White Sox All-Stars

In honor of the All-Star Game, here is a list of every White Sox player named to the All-Star team. That doesn't necessarily mean that they played, or in some cases even showed up, but they were chosen.

2010: Matt Thornton, Paul Konerko
2009: Mark Buehrle
2008: Joe Crede, Carlos Quentin
2007: Bobby Jenks
2006: Mark Buehrle, Jose Contreras, Jermaine Dye, Bobby Jenks, Paul Konerko, A.J. Pierzynski, Jim Thome
2005: Mark Buehrle, Jon Garland, Paul Konerko, Scott Podsednik
2004: Esteban Loaiza
2003: Carl Everett, Esteban Loaiza, Magglio Ordonez
2002: Mark Buehrle, Paul Konerko
2001: Magglio Ordonez
2000: James Baldwin, Ray Durham, Magglio Ordonez
1999: Magglio Ordonez
1998: Ray Durham
1997: Albert Belle, Frank Thomas
1996: Roberto Hernandez, Frank Thomas
1995: Frank Thomas
1994: Wilson Alvarez, Jason Bere, Frank Thomas
1993: Jack McDowell, Frank Thomas
1992: Jack McDowell, Robin Ventura
1991: Carlton Fisk, Ozzie Guillen, Jack McDowell
1990: Ozzie Guillen, Bobby Thigpen
1989: Harold Baines
1988: Ozzie Guillen
1987: Harold Baines
1986: Harold Baines
1985: Harold Baines, Carlton Fisk
1984: Richard Dotson
1983: Ron Kittle
1982: Carlton Fisk
1981: Britt Burns, Carlton Fisk
1980: Ed Farmer
1979: Chet Lemon
1978: Chet Lemon
1977: Richie Zisk
1976: Rich Gossage
1975: Bucky Dent, Rich Gossage, Jim Kaat, Jorge Orta
1974: Dick Allen, Ed Herrmann, Wilbur Wood
1973: Dick Allen, Pat Kelly
1972: Dick Allen, Carlos May, Wilbur Wood
1971: Bill Melton, Wilbur Wood
1970: Luis Aparicio
1969: Carlos May
1968: Tommy John, Duane Josephson
1967: Tommie Agee, Ken Berry, Joe Horlen, Gary Peters
1966: Tommie Agee
1965: Eddie Fisher, Bill Skowron
1964: Gary Peters, Juan Pizarro
1963: Nellie Fox, Juan Pizarro
1962 Game 1: Luis Aparicio, Jim Landis
1962 Game 2: Luis Aparicio, Ray Herbert, Jim Landis
1961 Game 1: Nellie Fox, Billy Pierce
1961 Game 2: Luis Aparicio, Nellie Fox, Roy Sievers
1960 Game 1: Luis Aparicio, Nellie Fox, Minnie Minoso, Sherm Lollar, Al Smith, Gerry Staley, Early Wynn
1960 Game 2: Luis Aparicio, Nellie Fox, Minnie Minoso, Sherm Lollar, Gerry Staley, Early Wynn
1959 Game 1: Luis Aparicio, Nellie Fox, Sherm Lollar, Billy Pierce, Early Wynn
1959 Game 2: Luis Aparicio, Nellie Fox, Sherm Lollar, Early Wynn
1958: Luis Aparicio, Nellie Fox, Sherm Lollar, Billy Pierce, Early Wynn
1957: Nellie Fox, Minnie Minoso, Billy Pierce
1956: Nellie Fox, Sherm Lollar, Billy Pierce, Jim Wilson
1955: Chico Carrasquel, Dick Donovan, Nellie Fox, Sherm Lollar, Billy Pierce
1954: Chico Carrasquel, Sandy Consuegra, Ferris Fain, Nellie Fox, Bob Keegan, George Kell, Sherm Lollar, Minnie Minoso, Virgil Trucks
1953: Chico Carrasquel, Ferris Fain, Nellie Fox, Minnie Minoso, Billy Pierce
1952: Nellie Fox, Minnie Minoso, Eddie Robinson
1951: Jim Busby, Chico Carrasquel, Nellie Fox, Randy Gumpert, Minnie Minoso, Eddie Robinson
1950: Ray Scarborough
1949: Cass Michaels
1948: Joe Haynes
1947: Luke Appling, Rudy York
1946: Luke Appling
1945: Tony Cuccinello, Thornton Lee, Wally Moses, Mike Tresh
1944: Orval Grove, Thurman Tucker
1943: Luke Appling
1942: Eddie Smith
1941: Luke Appling, Thornton Lee, Eddie Smith
1940: Luke Appling
1939: Luke Appling, Ted Lyons
1938: Mike Kreevich
1937: Luke Sewell, Monty Stratton
1936: Luke Appling, Vern Kennedy, Rip Radcliff
1935: Al Simmons
1934: Jimmy Dykes, Al Simmons
1933: Jimmy Dykes, Al Simmons


Anonymous said...

What happened to Fisk after '85? I thought he was an annual attendee.

Steve Gierman said...

Fans voted in catchers from teams that were doing well, instead of popularity, unlike today. The Sox teams after '85 were pretty poor, including three 5th place finishes followed by a seventh place finish.

After the Sox rebounded for a second place finish in 1990, Fisk reappeared at the All-Star game in 1991.

I'm sure that age, injury and slowly being replaced by Karkovice also played a role in Fisk being left out so many times.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...